Waikato Region Paragliding league

The Waikato comp is definitely on this weekend. Watch our Facebook page for updates. Meeting place will depend on which site we use. Right now it looks 50:50 between Kaimias and Paeroas.

New Paragliding Pilot ranking system, new rules and the introduction of FTV

Greetings, Pilots.

The Paragliding Competition Committee has just released the largest change to the Paragliding Competition Rulebook for years.

The former "National Ladder" has been replaced by a far superior system for ranking pilots known as NZPRS. This enables us to introduce proper FTV scoring that will encourage pilots to fly more competitively and make New Zealand a more competitive nation in the world of cross country paragliding.

You can check out the NZPRS system here

The new rules (v20) will come into official effect on 16th December 2017. There are several changes which are visible as tracked changes in the document.

The rules allow for the backdating of the NZPRS to 1st September. So the Krushevo Open was the last competition to use the old ladder system, and the Canungra Cup, followed by the Southern and Auckland Regional Comps, were the first to be applied to the NZPRS system.

Evan Lamberton has climbed to the top of the table, thanks to his performance at the Canungra Cup. Jeff Ripley has also climbed into the top ten again, thanks to his win at the Auckland Regional Comp.

The PCC feels that these developments are a very positive initiative that modernises our competition system and will increase New Zealand's standing in the paragliding world.